View All Texts


Dubliners Bookshelf collects and organizes the books of James Joyce’s short story collection Dubliners (1914). Books appear throughout the stories as significant objects and meaningful text. Specific books, such as Walter Scott’s The Abbot, Lord Byron’s Poems, or the Maynooth Catechism, reveal the literary and textual worlds circulating in Joyce’s Dublin. They offer insights into Joyce’s characters and themes while also suggesting a portrait of Dublin’s print culture at the turn of the twentieth century. Dubliners Bookshelf presents these books in a digital anthology. Students, scholars, and readers of Joyce are welcome to explore these texts and reflect on Joyce’s bibliographic imagination.